The War of Two Queens (Blood and Ash #4) – A Bloodthirsty Instalment

The War of Two Queens is a romantic fantasy by American author Jennifer L. Armentrout. Published in September of 2020, The War of Two Queens is the fourth instalment of what is a six-book series, titled The Blood and Ash Series.

From bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes a new adult fantasy novel series, Blood and Ash. The epic fourth novel in the series, The War of Two Queens, brings us back into the world of strife and drama!

If romance, political intrigue, discrimination, and high-end magical fantasy is your thing, then this novel should definitely be on your list! Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses, or Holly Black’s The Folk of the Air series!

Table of Contents [CLICK HERE TO OPEN]

Official Description

the war of two queens
  • Save

The War of Two Queens

War is only the beginning…

“We’re two hearts … one soul. We’ll find each other again. We always will.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, The War of Two Queens

Full Description

From the desperation of golden crowns…

Casteel Da’Neer knows all too well that very few are as cunning or vicious as the Blood Queen, but no one, not even him, could’ve prepared for the staggering revelations. The magnitude of what the Blood Queen has done is almost unthinkable.

And born of mortal flesh…

Nothing will stop Poppy from freeing her King and destroying everything the Blood Crown stands for. With the strength of the Primal of Life’s guards behind her, and the support of the wolven, Poppy must convince the Atlantian generals to make war her way—because there can be no retreat this time. Not if she has any hope of building a future where both kingdoms can reside in peace.

A great primal power rises…

Together, Poppy and Casteel must embrace traditions old and new to safeguard those they hold dear—to protect those who cannot defend themselves. But war is only the beginning. Ancient primal powers have already stirred, revealing the horror of what began eons ago. To end what the Blood Queen has begun, Poppy might have to become what she has been prophesied to be—what she fears the most.

As the Harbinger of Death and Destruction.

Our Overview of Crown of War Of Two Quuens

“The War of Two Queens” is the fourth book in the “Blood and Ash” series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. The series is a dark and epic fantasy romance, set in a world where magic is forbidden and the ruling monarchy is threatened by the return of the gods.

In “The War of Two Queens,” the story follows the main character, Poppy, as she continues her journey to reclaim her rightful place as the ruler of the Kingdom of Godfrey. With the help of her loyal followers, including the powerful and mysterious prince, Casteel, Poppy must navigate the dangerous political landscape of the kingdom and face off against the corrupt Queen of the North, who threatens to overthrow her.

As Poppy and Casteel delve deeper into the hidden history of the kingdom, they discover that the war between the two queens is rooted in an ancient power struggle between the gods and the ruling monarchy. With the fate of the kingdom hanging in the balance, Poppy and Casteel must work together to uncover the truth and prevent the return of the gods, even if it means sacrificing everything they hold dear.

Filled with action, romance, and magic, “The War of Two Queens” is a thrilling and captivating addition to the “Blood and Ash” series, as Poppy and Casteel’s journey takes them to the brink of war and beyond.

  • Save
Map of the world accordingly, first appearing in the ebook and print versions of A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire

The War of Two Queens (Blood and Ash #4) – A Bloodthirsty Instalment of the Understated Series

Our Review of Crown of Gilded Bones

A truly amazing follow-up to the series!

“The War of Two Queens” is a highly entertaining and emotionally charged novel that will captivate readers from start to finish. The author’s writing style is rich and imaginative, weaving a complex world filled with magic, politics, and dangerous secrets. The characters are well-developed and memorable, and the chemistry between Poppy and Casteel is electric. The storyline is fast-paced and filled with unexpected twists and turns that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

One of the highlights of this novel is the intricate world-building, which is both unique and captivating. The concept of forbidden magic and a war between the gods and the ruling monarchy is both original and intriguing, and the author does an excellent job of exploring these themes in depth.

We can’t help being obsessed with this series! Every single instalment of the series just keeps getting better and better!

Our rating: ★★★★★

About the Author

#1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. 

Jennifer was diagnosed with retinitis pigmentosa, a group of rare genetic disorders that involve a breakdown and death of cells in the retina, eventually resulting in loss of vision. Due to her diagnosis, she considers educating people about this disorder is a priority of hers which she will promote alongside her writing. Inspirational!

  • Save

Jennifer has won numerous awards, including:

  • 2013 Reviewers Choice Award for Wait for You,
  • 2015 Editor’s Pick for Fall With Me
  • 2014/2015 Moerser-Jugendbuch- Jury award for Obsidian.
  • DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA.
  • Her adult romantic suspense novel TILL DEATH was an Amazon Editor’s Pick and iBook Book of the Month.
  • Young adult contemporary THE PROBLEM WITH FOREVER is a 2017 RITA Award Winner in Young Adult Fiction.
  • Her novel STORM AND FURY was chosen for the 2020-2021 Florida Teens Read List.
  • The adult fantasy FROM BLOOD AND ASH was the 2020 Goodreads Choice Award in Romance.

Check out Jennifer’s author page on her website here!

Frequently Asked Questions

How many books are in the Blood and Ash series?

The blood and ash series currently has 3 books published, with another 3 on the way. The reading order is as follows:

  1. From Blood and Ash (2020)
  2. Kingdom of Flesh and Fire (2020)
  3. The Crown of Gilded Bones (2021)
  4. The War of Two Queens (2022)
  5. A Soul of Ash and Blood (Expected 2023)
  6. (Unconfirmed title)

Following the success of the series, Armentrout began another fantasy book series in 2021 as a companion to the Blood & Ash series.

The Flesh and Fire series is a companion prequel, with two novels.

  1. A Shadow in the Ember
  2. A Light in the Flame

Has The War of Two Queens been released?

The War of Queens was published 15th March 2022.

Is there going to be another book after a War of Two Queens?

There are two more books to be released in the series! So look forward to that!

Should you read Shadow and Ember before War of Two Queens?

Although you can read the Blood and Ash series independently, it is recommended by fans to read A Shadow in the Ember before diving into The War of Two Queens!

Have you read any of the Blood and Ash series? Let us know!

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link