The Locked Tomb Series: Swords, Sorcery, and Solar Systems

In the vast expanse of speculative fiction, Tamsyn Muir’s the Locked Tomb series emerges as a radiant constellation, beckoning readers into a solar system teeming with swordplay, political intrigue, and, of course, lesbian necromancers. The trilogy, consisting of “Gideon the Ninth,” “Harrow the Ninth,” and “Nona the Ninth,” weaves a spellbinding tapestry of mystery, magic, and mayhem.

At its heart, the series follows the tumultuous journeys of captivating characters, starting with the irreverent swordswoman Gideon in the first installment. As the narrative unfolds, we are drawn deeper into a world where ancient rivalries, deadly trials, and cosmic mysteries shape the destiny of the Ninth House and its enigmatic inhabitants.

Table of Contents [CLICK HERE TO OPEN]

About The Locked Tomb Series Series

The Locked Tomb series consists of three books:

1. Gideon the Ninth: Unleashing the Swordswoman

In “Gideon the Ninth,” readers are introduced to the world of the Locked Tomb series through the eyes of Gideon, a swordswoman with a penchant for irreverence and a longing to escape a life of servitude. The narrative unfolds against a backdrop of cut-throat politics and arcane revenants as Gideon, armed with her sword and a dash of audacity, becomes entangled in a deadly trial that could determine the fate of the Ninth House. Tamsyn Muir’s debut dazzles with a heart-pounding blend of epic science fantasy, setting the stage for a trilogy that defies genre conventions.

2. Harrow the Ninth: Mind-Twisting Puzzle Box

Continuing the saga, “Harrow the Ninth” thrusts readers into a mind-twisting puzzle box of mystery, murder, and magic. Harrowhark Nonagesimus, the last necromancer of the Ninth House, is drafted into an unwinnable war. As she struggles to perfect her skills alongside a detested rival, the narrative weaves a complex tale within the gothic gloom of the Emperor’s Mithraeum. Muir’s second installment challenges readers with questions of life, death, and the enigmatic forces shaping the destiny of the Locked Tomb universe.

3. Nona the Ninth: The Zombies are back

In the epic “Nona the Ninth,” the city is under siege, zombies are returning, and all Nona wants is a birthday party. However, her ordinary desires are eclipsed by extraordinary circumstances. The whole city is in disarray, and Nona, who woke up in a stranger’s body six months prior, fears the return of a life she might have to relinquish. As the Blood of Eden forces surround the last Cohort facility, Nona grapples with being the weapon that could save the Nine Houses. In the midst of chaos, dreams of a woman with a skull-painted face haunt Nona, adding another layer of intrigue to the captivating third book of the Locked Tomb trilogy.

The Locked Tomb Series In Order

Gideon the Ninth

  • Save

The Emperor needs necromancers.

The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman.

Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead nonsense.

Tamsyn Muir’s Gideon the Ninth unveils a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers. Her characters leap off the page, as skillfully animated as arcane revenants. The result is a heart-pounding epic science fantasy.

Brought up by unfriendly, ossifying nuns, ancient retainers, and countless skeletons, Gideon is ready to abandon a life of servitude and an afterlife as a reanimated corpse. She packs up her sword, her shoes, and her dirty magazines, and prepares to launch her daring escape. But her childhood nemesis won’t set her free without a service.

Harrowhark Nonagesimus, Reverend Daughter of the Ninth House and bone witch extraordinaire, has been summoned into action. The Emperor has invited the heirs to each of his loyal Houses to a deadly trial of wits and skill. If Harrowhark succeeds she will become an immortal, all-powerful servant of the Resurrection. But no necromancer can ascend without their cavalier. Without Gideon’s sword, Harrow will fail, and the Ninth House will die.

Of course, some things are better left dead.

Harrow the Ninth

the locked tomb series
  • Save

She answered the Emperor’s call.

She arrived with her arts, her wits, and her only friend.

In victory, her world has turned to ash.

After rocking the cosmos with her deathly debut, Tamsyn Muir continues the story of the penumbral Ninth House in Harrow the Ninth, a mind-twisting puzzle box of mystery, murder, magic, and mayhem. Nothing is as it seems in the halls of the Emperor, and the fate of the galaxy rests on one woman’s shoulders.

Harrowhark Nonagesimus, last necromancer of the Ninth House, has been drafted by her Emperor to fight an unwinnable war. Side-by-side with a detested rival, Harrow must perfect her skills and become an angel of undeath. But her health is failing, her sword makes her nauseous, and even her mind is threatening to betray her.

Sealed in the gothic gloom of the Emperor’s Mithraeum with three unfriendly teachers, hunted by the mad ghost of a murdered planet, Harrow must confront two unwelcome questions: is somebody trying to kill her? And if they succeeded, would the universe be better off?

Nona the Ninth

the locked tomb series
  • Save

Her city is under siege.

The zombies are coming back.

And all Nona wants is a birthday party.

In many ways, Nona is like other people. She lives with her family, has a job at her local school, and loves walks on the beach and meeting new dogs. But Nona’s not like other people. Six months ago she woke up in a stranger’s body, and she’s afraid she might have to give it back.

The whole city is falling to pieces. A monstrous blue sphere hangs on the horizon, ready to tear the planet apart. Blood of Eden forces have surrounded the last Cohort facility and wait for the Emperor Undying to come calling. Their leaders want Nona to be the weapon that will save them from the Nine Houses. Nona would prefer to live an ordinary life with the people she loves, with Pyrrha and Camilla and Palamedes, but she also knows that nothing lasts forever.

And each night, Nona dreams of a woman with a skull-painted face…

Frequently Asked Questions

How many books will be in the locked tomb series?

There are three books in the Locked Tomb series: Gideon the Ninth, Harrow the Ninth, and Nona the Ninth.

What order should I read the locked tomb series?

Start with Gideon the Ninth, followed by Harrow the Ninth, and conclude with Nona the Ninth for the intended reading order.

Will there be a 4th Locked Tomb book?

Yes, Alecto the Ninth is the upcoming fourth and final novel in The Locked Tomb Series by Tamsyn Muir, expected to be released in 2023.

Is Alecto the Ninth the last book?

Yes, Alecto the Ninth will be the final novel in The Locked Tomb Series.

We hope you have found a new epic sci fi fantasy series with The Locked Tomb series

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link