Malazan Book Of The Fallen – A Guide To The Epic Fantasy Series

Malazan Book of the Fallen is a series of epic fantasy novels written by the Canadian author Steven Erikson. There are ten books in the series. It kicks off with Gardens of the Moon and concludes with The Crippled God. The series is very complex with a wide scope and presents the narratives of a large cast of characters spanning thousands of years across multiple continents.

The plot presents a complicated series of events in the world upon which the Malazan Empire is located. Each of the first five novels is relatively self-contained, in that each resolves its respective primary conflict; but many underlying characters and events are interwoven throughout the works of the series, binding it together. The series has received widespread critical acclaim. Reviewers praise the epic scope, plot complexity, and characterizations. This series is definitely well worth a read. So, check out our guide to the series here!

Reviews about Malazan Book Of The Fallen

“Erikson is an extraordinary writer. My advice to anyone who might listen to me is, Treat yourself to Gardens of the Moon. And my entirely selfish advice to Steven Erikson is, write faster.”
–Stephen R. Donaldson

“I stand slack-jawed in awe of The Malazan Book of the Fallen. This masterwork of imagination may be the high water mark of epic fantasy. This marathon of ambition has a depth and breadth and sense of vast reaches of inimical time unlike anything else available today. The Black Company, Zelazny’s Amber, Vance’s Dying Earth, and other mighty drumbeats are but foreshadowings of this dark dragon’s hoard.”
–Glen Cook

“A world that is both absorbing on a human level and full of magical sublimity… a wonderfully grand conception …splendidly written… fiendishly readable.”
— Adam Roberts

“Gripping, fast-moving, delightfully dark… utterly engrossing.”
— Elizabeth Hayden

“Erikson’s strengths are his grown up characters and his ability to create a world every bit as intricate and messy as our own.”
— J.V. Jones

“Rare is the writer who so fluidly combines a sense of mythic power and depth of world, with fully realized characters and thrilling action, but Steven Erikson manages it spectacularly.”
— Michael A. Stackpole

Malazan Book Of The Fallen Reading Order

Malazan Books Of The Fallen
  • Save

Gardens of the Moon – Book 1

The Malazan Empire simmers with discontent, bled dry by interminable warfare, bitter infighting, and bloody confrontations with the formidable Anomander Rake and his Tiste Andii, ancient and implacable sorcerers. Even the imperial legions yearn for some respite. Yet Empress Laseen’s rule remains absolute. Darujhistan, the last of the Free Cities of Genabackis, holds out. It is to this ancient citadel that Laseen turns her predatory gaze.

Malazan Books Of The Fallen
  • Save

Deadhouse Gates – Book 2

In the vast dominion of Seven Cities, in the Holy Desert Raraku, the seer Sha’ik and her followers prepare for the long-prophesied uprising known as the Whirlwind. Unprecedented in size and savagery, this maelstrom of fanaticism and bloodlust will embroil the Malazan Empire in one of the bloodiest conflicts it has ever known, shaping destinies and giving birth to legends.

Malazan Books Of The Fallen
  • Save

Memories Of Ice – Book 3

The ravaged continent of Genabackis has given birth to a terrifying new empire: the Pannion Domin. Like a tide of corrupted blood, it seethes across the land devouring all. In it’s path stands an uneasy alliance: Onearms’s army and Whiskeyjack’s Bridgeburners, alongside their enemies of old. But ancient undead clans are also gathering. It seems that something altogether darker and more malign threatens this world.

  • Save

House Of Chains – Book 4

In Northern Genabackis, a raiding party of savage tribal warriors descends from the mountains into the southern flatlands. Their intention is to wreak havoc amongst the despised lowlanders, but for the one named Karsa Orlong, it marks the beginning of what will prove to be an extraordinary destiny.

  • Save

Midnight Tides – Book 5

After decades of internecine warfare, the tribes of the Tiste Edur have at last united under the Warlock King of the Hiroth. There is peace, but at a terrible price. A pact made with a hidden power whose motives are suspect and deadly. To the south, the expansionist kingdom of Lether has enslaved all its less-civilized neighbors with rapacious hunger. All save one – Tiste Edur. And it’s only a matter of time before they fall too. Or so destiny has decreed.

  • Save

The Bonehunters – Book 6

In the ever decimating Malazan Empire, a war is brewing between mortals and immortals, gods and mages. This war will decide once and for all who shall exist and who shall perish.

  • Save

Reaper’s Gale – Book 7

All is not well in the Letherii Empire. Rhulad Sengar, the Emperor of a Thousand Deaths, spirals into madness. He’s surrounded by sycophants and agents of his Machiavellian chancellor. Meanwhile, the secret police are conducting a campaign of terror against their own people. Conspiracies seethe throughout the palace as the empire edges closer to an all-out war.

  • Save

Toll Of The Hounds – Book 8

In the city of blue fire, Darujhistan, it is said that love and death shall arrive dancing. It is summer and the heat is oppressive, but for the small man in the faded red waistcoat, discomfiture is not just because of the sun. Dire portents plague his nights and haunt the city streets. Meanwhile, hidden hands pluck the strings of tyranny like a fell chorus. It seems that love and death are indeed about to arrive.

  • Save

Dust Of Dreams – Book 9

In Letherii, the exiled Malazan army commanded by Adjunct Tavore begins its march into the eastern Wastelands, to fight for an unknown cause against an enemy it has never seen. So this last great army of the Malazan Empire is resolved to make one final defiant, heroic stand in the name of redemption.

  • Save

The Crippled God – Book 10

Savaged by the K’Chain Nah’Ruk, the Bonehunters march for Kolanse, where wait for an unknown fate. Tormented by questions, the army totters on the edge of mutiny, but Adjunct Tavore will not relent. One final act remains – if it is in her power – if she can hold her army together – if the shaky alliances she has forged can survive all that is to come.

We hope you enjoyed discovering the Malazan Books Of The Fallen series. Let us know what you think of the series!

If you liked this, then you may also like Order Of The Witcher Books That Inspire The Netflix Show!


Malazan Book Of The Fallen – A Guide To The Epic Fantasy Series
  • Save

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link