A Light in the Flame (Flesh and Fire #2): More Blood and Ash!

A Light in the Flame is another epic fantasy by American author Jennifer L. Armentrout. Published in November, 2022, A Light in the Flame is the second instalment of the new compelling Flesh and Fire series.

From bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes a new adult fantasy novel series, based in the beloved Blood and Ash universe. The second novel in the series, we’re sure to come back to the series with a smile on our faces!

If romance, political intrigue, discrimination, and high-end magical fantasy is your thing, then this novel should definitely be on your list! Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses, or Holly Black’s The Folk of the Air series!

Table of Contents [CLICK HERE TO OPEN]

Official Description

a light in the flame
  • Save

A Light in the Flame

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes book two in her Flesh and Fire series…

The only one who can save Sera now is the one she spent her life planning to kill.

“I would have loved you if I could have. There would’ve been no stopping me.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, A Light in the Flame

Full Description

The truth about Sera’s plan is out, shattering the fragile trust forged between her and Nyktos. Surrounded by those distrustful of her, all Sera has is her duty. She will do anything to end Kolis, the false King of Gods, and his tyrannical rule of Iliseeum, thus stopping the threat he poses to the mortal realm.

Nyktos has a plan, though, and as they work together, the last thing they need is the undeniable, scorching passion that continues to ignite between them. Sera cannot afford to fall for the tortured Primal, not when a life no longer bound to a destiny she never wanted is more attainable than ever. But memories of their shared pleasure and unrivaled desire are a siren’s call impossible to resist.

And as Sera begins to realize that she wants to be more than a Consort in name only, the danger surrounding them intensifies. The attacks on the Shadowlands are increasing, and when Kolis summons them to Court, a whole new risk becomes apparent. The Primal power of Life is growing inside her, pushing her closer to the end of her Culling. And without Nyktos’s love—an emotion he’s incapable of feeling—she won’t survive her Ascension. That is if she even makes it to her Ascension and Kolis doesn’t get to her first. Because time is running out. For both her and the realms.

A Light in the Flame (Flesh and Fire #2): Back into the Of Blood and Ash Universe!

Our Review

We absolutely adored the first book, and we fell in love with Sera and Nyktos as much, if not more, than we did with Poppy and Cas. Here it was mostly Sera and Nyktos going around in a circle, tiptoeing around each other, and trying to figure out what they felt for each other and how to behave with each other.

If you love slow-burn, then this is the book for you!

We adore the main character. She is strong and determined to do whatever it takes to help the mortal realm, and also the Shadowlands because she came to care for the people she met there. Her character is every bit as engaging as Poppy (we see where she gets it from!)

Their romance also has this doomed and tragic quality to it that makes it more gripping and intense. He has his own issues and worries, and it’s not all about Sera, there are also moments about him and his problems, and he has his own character arc. Like Sera, he matured, and he and Sera’s characters are the strength of this series. We can’t get enough of him. We could really go on and on – but we’ll leave it up to you to find out more.

Also, special shout-out to Nektas and Reaver. These two adorable, wholesome draken deserve the world and every happiness it has to offer because no one is as good as them!

The characters truly are the highlight of this sequel, and it is more slow-paced than other books in the series.

Our rating: ★★★★★

About the Author

#1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. 

Jennifer was diagnosed with retinitis pigmentosa, a group of rare genetic disorders that involve a breakdown and death of cells in the retina, eventually resulting in loss of vision. Due to her diagnosis, she considers educating people about this disorder is a priority of hers which she will promote alongside her writing. Inspirational!

  • Save

Jennifer has won numerous awards, including:

  • 2013 Reviewers Choice Award for Wait for You,
  • 2015 Editor’s Pick for Fall With Me
  • 2014/2015 Moerser-Jugendbuch- Jury award for Obsidian.
  • DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA.
  • Her adult romantic suspense novel TILL DEATH was an Amazon Editor’s Pick and iBook Book of the Month.
  • Young adult contemporary THE PROBLEM WITH FOREVER is a 2017 RITA Award Winner in Young Adult Fiction.
  • Her novel STORM AND FURY was chosen for the 2020-2021 Florida Teens Read List.
  • The adult fantasy FROM BLOOD AND ASH was the 2020 Goodreads Choice Award in Romance.

Check out Jennifer’s author page on her website here!

Frequently Asked Questions

Is A Light in the Flame a series?

Following the success of the Blood and Ash series, Armentrout began another fantasy book series in 2021 as a companion to the Blood & Ash series.

The Flesh and Fire series is a companion prequel, with two novels.

  1. A Shadow in the Ember
  2. A Light in the Flame

Will there be a book after A Light in the Flame?

In the words of the author herself: “Currently at this time, there are no plans for a spin-off. I have other books/series I need to work on before I could seriously entertain that idea, plus there would need to be some time away from the series.”

Does A Light in the Flame have a happy ending?


Poppy and Sera end up in a cage following their use of magic at the end of their respective books. Poppy in The Crown of Gilded Bones, while Sera ends up in the cage at the end of A Light in the Flame. The ending might not exactly be happy, but there’s plenty of joy in the journey of the novel.

Do I need to read Shadow in the Ember before War of Two Queens

The recommended reading order is to read Shadow in the Ember before diving into The War of Two Queens

Have you read any of the Blood and Ash series yet? Let us know!

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link