The Broken Empire Trilogy: A Journey Of Revenge, Power & Redemption

In the vast landscape of fantasy literature, certain works stand out for their unflinching portrayal of human nature’s darker facets, and among them, Mark Lawrence’s The Broken Empire trilogy reigns supreme. Comprising three gripping installments — Prince of Thorns, King of Thorns, and Emperor of Thorns — this series immerses readers in a world where treachery, vengeance, and ambition collide in a brutal dance for power.

Table of Contents [CLICK HERE TO OPEN]

About The Broken Empire Trilogy Series

From the very first page of Prince of Thorns, Lawrence thrusts readers into the turbulent life of Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath, a young man consumed by a thirst for revenge after witnessing the murder of his family. As the series unfolds, Jorg’s journey evolves from a quest for personal vengeance to a relentless pursuit of dominion over a fractured empire.

With each installment, Lawrence deftly weaves a tapestry of political intrigue, moral ambiguity, and existential turmoil, inviting readers to delve deep into the psyche of a protagonist who straddles the line between hero and antihero. Against the backdrop of a war-torn realm and ancient mysteries waiting to be uncovered, Jorg’s quest for power takes on a mythic quality, drawing readers into a narrative that is as intellectually stimulating as it is emotionally gripping.

Welcome to the Broken Empire triology, where the only certainty is the relentless march of time—and the unyielding will of those who dare to seize their destiny.

1. Prince of Thorns

In the first installment of the trilogy, Prince of Thorns, readers are introduced to Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath, a young man driven by a thirst for vengeance following the brutal murder of his mother and brother. As Jorg grows from a vengeful youth to a cunning leader of mercenaries, he sets his sights on reclaiming his birthright: the throne of the Broken Empire. Fueled by rage and guided by a ruthless determination to seize power, Jorg’s journey is marked by violence, betrayal, and the unraveling of ancient secrets.

2. King of Thorns

Continuing the saga, King of Thorns finds Jorg Ancrath at eighteen, now a king ruling over seven nations. Haunted by the atrocities of his past and driven by his insatiable hunger for power, Jorg faces new challenges as an overwhelming enemy force threatens his kingdom. Armed with ancient artifacts of unknown power, Jorg must navigate treacherous political waters and confront a mysterious necromancer known as the Dead King, setting the stage for a climactic battle of wills.

3. Emperor of Thorns

In the final chapter of the trilogy, Emperor of Thorns, Jorg Ancrath’s quest for dominion reaches its zenith as he sets his sights on the ultimate prize: the title of emperor. With the fate of the Broken Empire hanging in the balance, Jorg unveils long-lost technologies and ancient secrets in a bid to secure his place as ruler. However, his ambitions are challenged by a formidable adversary—the enigmatic Dead King—who poses a threat unlike any Jorg has faced before. As the forces of darkness converge, Jorg’s journey culminates in a gripping showdown where the fate of nations hangs in the balance.

The Broken Empire Trilogy In Order

Prince of Thorns

  • Save

When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were killed before him. By the time he was thirteen, he was the leader of a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king…

It’s time for Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath to return to the castle he turned his back on, to take what’s rightfully his. Since the day he hung pinned on the thorns of a briar patch and watched Count Renar’s men slaughter his mother and young brother, Jorg has been driven to vent his rage. Life and death are no more than a game to him—and he has nothing left to lose.

But treachery awaits him in his father’s castle. Treachery and dark magic. No matter how fierce his will, can one young man conquer enemies with power beyond his imagining?

King of Thorns

the broken empire trilogy
  • Save

In book two of the Broken Empire trilogy, the boy who would be king has gained the throne—but the crown is a heavy weight to bear…

At age nine, Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath vowed to avenge his slaughtered mother and brother—and to punish his father for not doing so. At fifteen, he began to fulfill that vow. Now, at eighteen, he must fight for what he has taken by torture and treachery.

Haunted by the pain of his past, and plagued by nightmares of the atrocities he has committed, King Jorg is filled with rage. And even as his need for revenge continues to consume him, an overwhelming enemy force marches on his castle.

Jorg knows that he cannot win a fair fight. But he has found a long-hidden cache of ancient artifacts. Some might call them magic. Jorg is not certain—all he knows is that their secrets can be put to terrible use in the coming battle…

Emperor of Thorns

the broken empire trilogy
  • Save

In the final novel in the Broken Empire Trilogy, the boy who would rule all may have finally met his match…
King Jorg Ancrath is twenty now—and king of seven nations. His goal—revenge against his father—has not yet been realized, and the demons that haunt him have only grown stronger. Yet no matter how tortured his path, he intends to take the next step in his upward climb.
Jorg would be emperor. It is a position not to be gained by the sword but rather by vote. And never in living memory has anyone secured a majority of the vote, leaving the Broken Empire long without a leader. Jorg plans to change that. He’s uncovered the lost technology of the land, and he won’t hesitate to use it.
But he soon finds an adversary standing in his way, a necromancer unlike any he has ever faced—a figure hated and feared even more than himself: the Dead King.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is The Broken Empire trilogy worth reading?

Yes, the Broken Empire trilogy is definitely worth reading. It offers a compelling blend of dark fantasy, intricate world-building, and complex characters, making it a rewarding read for fans of the genre.

Is the Broken Empire trilogy set in the future?

No, the Broken Empire trilogy is not set in the future but rather in a fictional medieval-esque world with elements of magic and technology.

What is the broken empire trilogy about?

The Broken Empire trilogy follows the journey of Prince Jorg Ancrath, who seeks revenge for the murder of his family and aims to claim the throne amidst a backdrop of political intrigue and dark magic.

Is the Broken Empire trilogy post-apocalyptic?

While the Broken Empire trilogy features a world in a state of decay and ruin, it is not explicitly post-apocalyptic. The setting is more akin to a dystopian fantasy world with elements of societal collapse.

Whether you are drawn to the series for its gripping plot, rich world-building, or morally ambiguous characters, The Broken Empire Trilogy stands as a testament to the enduring allure of dark fantasy literature. As we bid farewell to the thorns and shadows of this captivating saga, we carry with us the echoes of its unforgettable tale—a tale of triumph and tragedy, of love and loss, and of the eternal struggle for power in a world veiled in darkness.

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link