The Finale Of The Legendary Series: Children of Memory

In the realm of science fiction literature, certain works redefine the limits of creativity. Are you ready to delve into the next chapter of Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Time series? In Children of Memory, we explore themes of memory, identity, and the delicate balance between preservation and change. In this article, we will journey through the pages of this mesmerizing novel, examining its complexities, its profound insights, and its enduring influence on the genre.

Table of Contents [CLICK HERE TO OPEN]

The Finale The Legendary Series: Children of Memory

Children of Time Series

Adrian Tchaikovksy’s award-winning novel Children of Time, is the epic story of humanity’s battle for survival on a terraformed planet.

The last remnants of the human race left a dying Earth, desperate to find a new home among the stars. Following in the footsteps of their ancestors, they discover the greatest treasure of the past age — a world terraformed and prepared for human life.

  • Save

The series is highly regarded in the Sci-Fi world, with thousands of fans across the world. In 2023 the series then received the Hugo Award for Best Series. The books in the series are as follows:

  1. Children of Time – 2015
  2. Children of Ruin – 2019
  3. Children of Memory – 2022

Children of Memory – Adrian Tchaikovsky

  • Save

The modern classic of space opera that began with Children of Time continues in this extraordinary novel of humanity’s battle for survival on a terraformed planet.

Earth failed. In a desperate bid to escape, the spaceship Enkidu and its captain, Heorest Holt, carried its precious human cargo to a potential new paradise. Generations later, this fragile colony has managed to survive, eking out a hardy existence. Yet life is tough, and much technological knowledge has been lost.

Then strangers appear. They possess unparalleled knowledge and thrilling technology – and they’ve arrived from another world to help humanity’s colonies. But not all is as it seems, and the price of the strangers’ help may be the colony itself.

Our Overview

The narrative unfolds against the backdrop of Imir, a harsh planet hosting a struggling human colony. Within this setting, we encounter a young girl amidst the colony’s challenges. Imir’s residents are plagued by rumors of enigmatic figures known as “Seccers” and “Watchers,” often blamed for their hardships.

Introducing a familiar cast including Portia, Bianca, Fabian, and the enigmatic Avrana Kern, the story also welcomes newcomers Miranda, hailing from Nod, and the intriguing duo of Gethli and Gothli, uplifted corvids from Rourke. Their journey brings them to Imir, where they uncover secrets that promise to alter the destiny of the Children of Earth forever.

Compared to its predecessors, the story feels more intimate in scale. While the first novel traversed generations and witnessed the rise of societies and alliances between humans and spiders, this installment focuses on the intricate revelations unfolding within the confines of Imir’s colony.

Our Review

Tchaikovsky begins with a concise recap of crucial narrative points from prior books, outlining the history of human exploration in two waves. The first wave, led by the ambitious Avrana Kern, saw ancient humans with advanced terraforming technology ultimately destroyed by war and a sabotaging virus. The second wave, comprised of the remnants of humanity from a ruined Earth, launched slow ark ships in search of the distant Edens prepared by Kern.

In this installment, the faster-than-light explorers from “Children of Ruin” discover Rourke, an ancient world inhabited by corvids (crows) who communicate in pairs with seemingly random dialogue. Joining the crew of the Skipper, alongside spiders, an octopus, a human, an uploaded replica of Kern’s mind, and Miranda, an entity with memories encoded in her DNA, they embark on a journey to Imir.

Imir’s fragile colony, descended into a medieval-like lifestyle, becomes the backdrop for Miranda’s entangled relationship with Liff, a pivotal figure in the colony’s survival. As Liff’s world blurs the lines between technology and magic, reminiscent of Clarke’s quote, Tchaikovsky delves into themes of self, sentience, and humanity.

Amidst memorable lines and insightful twists, Tchaikovsky challenges the reader with the corvid pair Gothi and Gethli, questioning the nature of their thought and existence. Echoing contemporary discussions on AI, the exploration of self and sentience in “Children of Memory” feels remarkably relevant.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Children of Memory part of a trilogy?

It is – check out the rest in the series:

  1. The Children of Time – 2015
  2. Children of Ruin – 2019
  3. Children of Memory – 2022

Can you read Children of Memory first?

For a richer understanding, it’s recommended to delve into the earlier books in the series before immersing yourself in Children of Memory.

What is Children of Memory about?

Children of Memory is an extraordinary space opera that continues the saga of humanity’s battle for survival on a terraformed planet. A fragile colony, generations later, encounters strangers from another world who offer help—but at a price.

Is Children of Time about spiders?

The book Children of Time follows alternate perspectives, one being a new generation of spiders. Arachnophobes might need to pace themselves through that novel!

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link