Crown of Midnight: The Bestselling Sequel To Throne Of Glass

In the enchanting realm of Sarah J. Maas’ literary universe, where magic intertwines with compelling narratives, Crown of Midnight stands as a captivating testament to the author’s storytelling prowess. This thrilling sequel to Throne of Glass takes readers on an exhilarating journey through a world brimming with mystery, action, and the intricate complexities of its beloved characters. As we delve into the heart of Celaena Sardothien’s adventures, the landscape expands, revealing both the wonders and the shadows that lurk within the glass castle.

Sarah J. Maas, known for her spellbinding ability to craft immersive worlds and multifaceted characters, once again beckons readers to lose themselves in the pages of Crown of Midnight. In this article, we embark on a literary exploration, dissecting the intricate layers of plot, the enchanting setting, and the profound character developments that make this sequel an indispensable chapter in the celebrated Throne of Glass series. Join us as we unravel the magic, the mysteries, and the emotional rollercoaster that awaits within the pages of this remarkable novel.

Table of Contents [CLICK HERE TO OPEN]
The Bestselling Sequel to Throne of Glass: The Wonderful ‘Crown of Midnight’

Crown of Midnight

crown of midnight
  • Save

Never trust an assassin.

Celaena’s story continues in this second book in the #1 bestselling Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become the King’s Champion. But she is far from loyal to the crown. Though she goes to great lengths to hide her secret, her deadly charade becomes more difficult when she realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. Her search for answers ensnares those closest to her, and no one is safe from suspicion-not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a princess with a rebel heart.

Then, one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie . . . and what she is willing to fight for.

Our Overview

In this book, Celaena and Chaol’s relationship deepens as they navigate the challenges posed by loyalty conflicts. Despite Chaol’s reservations due to his allegiance to the king and Dorian, their connection strengthens, culminating in a romantic birthday dinner arranged by Celaena. However, their bliss is short-lived when Chaol is kidnapped, leading Celaena on a perilous mission to rescue him.

The plot thickens as Archer, orchestrating Chaol’s capture, reveals a rebellion against the king, implicating Nehemia. Celaena, freed by her efforts, rushes back to the castle only to find Nehemia brutally murdered. Blaming Chaol, she launches a fierce attack, prompting Dorian to unveil his latent magical abilities. As Celaena seeks vengeance for Nehemia, she wrongly targets Grave as the murderer and later encounters a witch who unravels a riddle tied to powerful Wyrdkeys.

Upon discovering the king’s possession of one Wyrdkey, Celaena embarks on a quest to locate the others, suspecting Nehemia had knowledge of their whereabouts. Opening a portal to another world, she encounters Nehemia, who discloses her orchestrated death to thwart the king’s tyranny. Archer’s betrayal is exposed, leading to a confrontation that spills into a realm where Celaena’s true Fae form is revealed. Returning to their world, Celaena vanquishes Archer, concluding a tale of love, loss, and a quest for power.

Our Review

Crown of Midnight, the gripping sequel to Throne of Glass, thrusts readers deeper into the intricate world of Celaena Sardothien. As the newly appointed King’s Champion, Celaena struggles with her lack of loyalty to the oppressive King of Ardalan, risking her connections and her life to uncover the castle’s secrets. Sarah J. Maas masterfully unveils the layers of this fantastical world, introducing surprising magic and explaining mysteries with a brilliant narrative voice that immerses readers seamlessly.

The plot is a dynamic mix of mystery, action, and betrayal, offering a rollercoaster of emotions with plenty of twists and turns. While some plot elements may be familiar to genre enthusiasts, Maas infuses them with a refreshing edge, ensuring excitement throughout. The characters, each fascinating and multi-faceted, undergo significant growth, and their relationships develop beautifully. The narrative effortlessly shifts the spotlight from Dorian to Chaol, manipulating reader emotions with skillful precision.

The characters’ authenticity intensifies the impact of the book’s emotional moments, from character deaths to shattered relationships, leaving readers emotionally invested. Despite the pain inflicted on readers, the depth of these characters makes the experience profoundly satisfying. The review applauds the fascinating characters, excellent development, and the captivating setting and writing. However, it humorously questions the unavoidable emotional turmoil the book induces, emphasizing its excellence. The conclusion rates Crown of Midnight 5/5 stars, urging fans of Throne of Glass, as well as newcomers, to delve into this exceptional sequel.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Crown of Midnight about?

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. 

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

How many books are in the Throne of Glass series?

The series consists of seven main books:

  • Throne of Glass
  • Crown of Midnight
  • Heir of Fire
  • Queen of Shadows
  • Empire of Storms
  • Tower of Dawn
  • Kingdom of Ash

Are there spicy scenes in Crown of Midnight?

Crown of Midnight is contained with steamy scenes! Not to mention a love interest which will have even the coldest of hearts fluttering!

Is The Crown of Midnight appropriate for 14 year olds?

This is a New Adult book – so there is scenes which would not be suitable for younger readers. Parents are suggested to read the book before handing it over to their child to see if it is suitable for each individual.

Get FREE Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Daily!

AND Exclusive Access To VIP Giveaways, Prizes, Interviews & More!

Share via
Copy link